I Was a Paid Internet Shill: How Shadowy Groups Manipulate Internet Opinion and Debate. We certainly hope they aren’t paying the ones that show up here very much, they suck.

Leave a Reply

20 Comments on "I Was a Paid Internet Shill: How Shadowy Groups Manipulate Internet Opinion and Debate"

Notify of

trackback

[…] the original: I Was a Paid Internet Shill: How Shadowy Groups Manipulate Internet Opinion and Debate Tags: new format Category: 2010 Elections You can follow any responses to this entry via RSS. […]

StrinaM
Member
February 11, 2013 7:02 pm

So I guess we now know why Crowley and the others show up, eh?

poppajoe49
Member
poppajoe49
February 11, 2013 7:29 pm

Well, he did say he worked on occasion.

PsychoDad
Guest
February 11, 2013 4:51 pm

Well, I’ll follow up with the brief observation that I don’t much of the credibility of either the site or the writer — I’d peg it somewhere between Scientology.org and a Ron Paul fansite — not to say I dont think there aren’t paid shils, just that I don’t much believe this guy’s cloak & dagger story.

Neo-7
Member
Neo-7
February 11, 2013 4:29 pm

With the same asinine talking points , there is little doubt that the turds that floated by , here on these boards , they had to just been hacks . They NEVER offered any merits to the positions they put out . Their responses were SOOOO predictable . I always wondered what possible job they could preform in the real world .

Thanks for posting , what most knew .

poppajoe49
Member
poppajoe49
February 11, 2013 7:28 pm

I always wondered what possible job they could preform in the real world .

Crossing guard and mall security guard.

Fenster314
Member
Fenster314
February 11, 2013 4:01 pm

I call BS, at least on the guy who posted it.

…the next day, I arrived at the address – the third floor in a crumbling building. The appearance of the place did not inspire confidence. After walking down a long, filthy linoleum-covered corridor lit by dimly-flickering halogen, I came to the entrance of the office itself: a crudely battered metal door with a sign that said “United Amalgamated Industries, Inc.”

Yeah right. Someone’s “creative writing” class homework here. And a C minus effort to boot.

I later learned that this “company” changed its name almost monthly, always using bland names like that which gave no strong impression of what the company actually does. Not too hopeful, I went inside. The interior was equally shabby. There were a few long tables with folding chairs, at which about a dozen people were tapping away on old, beat-up computers

You don’t need magic secret companies to explain the political troll. Just politically energized retired/out of work people with nothing else to do all day. And given the media environment both left and right being politically energized isn’t a rare state of mind these days.

Jim Stewart
Member
Jim Stewart
February 11, 2013 3:55 pm

Aw dammit, I’ve been outed.

Progressive Hemrrhoid
Member
Progressive Hemrrhoid
February 11, 2013 3:35 pm

I’ve seen articles about Media Matters paying bloggers. Who would have never thought that being a propagandist is a career choice, need look no further then the Lame Stream Media.

poppajoe49
Member
poppajoe49
February 11, 2013 7:26 pm

They are in training for their jobs in the Ministry of Truth.

Not so silent
Member
Not so silent
February 11, 2013 2:28 pm

I have said it many times, paid trolls…they had a script and couldn’t come up with a thought of their own…..There is life that is lower than pig poo….we have met them here….

poppajoe49
Member
poppajoe49
February 11, 2013 7:25 pm

She whose name must not be mentioned, pedophile, Ms Poops, Crowley, DIT, and several others since I’ve been here.
I just await the next one to come here for us to pummel.

Not so silent
Member
Not so silent
February 11, 2013 10:08 pm

They didn’t last to long except for “HER”……they either got fired or are at home in mom’s basement celebrating their epic fail…

Navyvet2
Guest
Navyvet2
February 11, 2013 2:16 pm

Who is a lower life asshole? The shill or the slime balls that pay them? Losers both.

mojo
Member
mojo
February 11, 2013 2:07 pm

Wow. Ya mean people will PAY you to write moronic comments on obscure websites?

And here I been doin’ it for free!

JPTravis
Member
February 11, 2013 1:50 pm

We’ve suspected people of being paid shills here in IHTM, and I’ve suspected people of being paid shills in other forums.

drb
Member
drb
February 11, 2013 2:05 pm

We certainly have.

PsychoDad
Guest
February 11, 2013 4:42 pm

I often bait a number of Twitchy’s leftards with their being “nickel-a-word Media Matters hacks.” And note particularly long entries with such observations as “Was that one enough to get you tonight’s 40-oz?”

Sidekick
Member
Sidekick
February 11, 2013 1:50 pm

Confirmation of what we knew to be true.

drb
Member
drb
February 11, 2013 2:04 pm

no doubt

wpDiscuz